Follow Melanie J Firth on Twitter Follow Melanie J Firth on Facebook

The Faery Tales

The word ‘faery’ is French in origin and began to replace the Old English word ‘elf’ during the Tudor period.

It is derived from the Latin term ‘fatum’ meaning destiny or enchantment.

Throughout the years, faeries have been forgotten, downtrodden and misrepresented. Especially in books!

They are not a figment of the human imagination. In fact, I was lucky enough to meet one and to learn of the Land they inhabit.

So now I have a tale to tell…

The Faery Tale of Rosie Quartz

The Faery Tale of Amy Thyst‘The Faery Tales’ by Melanie J Firth are a fantasy series of seven books for young adult readers.

The intertwined stories follow the lives of both the humans and the faeries that live in Steeple Village and its neighbouring areas.

Here the local faeries are all named after precious crystals or stones, and they adopt the personality and characteristics of the rock they are identified with.

Books 1 and 2 in The Faery Tales series – ‘The Faery Tale of Rosie Quartz‘ and ‘The Faery Tale of Amy Thyst’ – are both out now and available to buy from all good bookshops and online retailers.

Book 3 in The Faery Tales series – ‘The Faery Tale of Aqua Marine’ – is due out in Winter 2016.

Reader Review

“Written with light humour, supernatural magic, and an understanding of the intense array of emotions experienced by teenagers of today.”

Copyright © 2019 Melanie J Firth